Official Councillor appointments made at AGM

The Council’s Annual General Meeting last night made a number of official appointments, including those for the Council’s statutory functions.

Councillor Derek White was elected as Chair of the Health & Adult Care Scrutiny Committee and Co-Chair of the Joint Health Overview & Scrutiny Committee (HOSC).

Planning Committee will be chaired by Councillor Charles Smith and Licencing Committee by Councillor Liz Clare.

Councillor Arnold England was elected as Speaker at the AGM, while Councillor Jim Lavery will be his Deputy.

Council leader, Shaun Davies, said: “These appointments, alongside those of my Cabinet, will ensure that we have a strong mix of talents, with breadth of experience across many different areas and walks of life.”

Other appointments at the AGM were:

Appeals Committee – Councillor Jane Pinter

Standards Committee – Councillor Janice Jones

Audit Committee – Councillor Paul Watling

Boundary Review Committee – Councillor Concepta Cassar

Council Constitution Committee – Councillor Malcolm Smith

Health & Wellbeing Board – Councillor Andy Burford

Personnel Committee – Councillor Shaun Davies

Councillor Stephen Reynolds was elected as Mayor of the borough, while his Deputy will be Councillor Amrik Jhawar.